May God bless your kind souls.

Kindness comes in all forms, and today I’m grateful for these people who stood out from the norm. 

The Antagonist.

I’m actually pretty annoyed with myself today. For out of nowhere, a sharp pain, of all tummies, chose mine to stay. Abrupt it came, I was caught unaware. I clutched my stomach, waiting for the train doors to open, was all I cared. 

I rushed out at the first station, and into the shopping mall I ran. The toilets were closed for cleaning, but I went in netherless, for the pain was too much to stand. 

A kind cleaner.

I knew she was upset, for I could hear her disgruntled snorts from the cubicle. She mentioned how could anyone not read the signs, to her, I was just an ignorant girl. 

But as I flushed the toilet and met her eye to eye, her expression softened as I apologized for intruding. She spoke kind words, and told me, 

“It’s okay” 

I thanked her, and hurried up the  next train for boarding. 

The Antagonist strikes again. 

Two stops later, the sharp pain striked again. Waiting for the doors to open once more, I dashed out of the train. 

I entered the station’s toilet, and there was two others in queue ahead. I remembered their stares and disgusted expression, as I clutched my tummy during the wait. 

I was stuck in the toilet for good long while. 

Now this brings me back to why I’m annoyed at myself, for as I walked out the toilet door. Suddenly my vision was filled with bright shining lights, as I scrambled across the floor. 

A kind stranger

I can’t remember who picked me up, but you have my gratitude as well. I apologize for running straight back into the toilet, before I could bid you farewell. 

A kind friend

I don’t quite remember the details after, for bright lights was all I see. I dialed for my family but to no avail. No one I knew, was free. 

The only person who picked up my calls, was a friend and a savior. I told him my vision was hazy, and that was all he needed to hear. 

I sat in the toilet waiting, before he accompanied me to the nearest clinic. With the intense pain and half-sighted vision, I tried hard not to panic. 

A kind patient

He asked about the waiting time, and there was a lady before me. She was another patient too. Yet she offered, her turn for me to see. 

I will never forget this kind gesture, as I walked through the doctor’s door. I thanked her once again, and I remembered no more. 

A kind boss

I woke up in the afternoon, I scrolled through the messages on my phone. I know my sudden medical leave messed up today’s roster, so I tried my very best to atone. 

I told my boss I’ll be back at work tomorrow, but what she replied warmed my heart. 

“If you’re not well, you can rest for tomorrow”

She’s got me covered, but if I wished, a later shift I’ll start.

And that brings me to an end of today, as I camp in the toilet; typing. A traumatic experience I’d say, but together with kindness it brings. 

This is an actual recount of what transpired on 31st May 2017. Kindness is not dead, and we should remember these little gestures. When it is our turn to be kind, let me always remember today, and deliver what I’ve learnt from these people. 

My deepest gratitude to the kind strangers, Mdm Lim F.L. and Yap X.Y. 

Leave a thought (:

